Rough Country Rooftop Cargo Box vs Goplus Hard Shell Carrier

Rough Country Rooftop Cargo Box vs Goplus Hard Shell Carrier

Updated October 2026

Rough Country vs Goplus rooftop cargo box: 14.46 vs 14 cu ft, 125 vs 165 lbs, struts vs dual-side opening. Spec-by-spec ...

17 min read

As an Amazon Associate this site earns from qualifying purchases.

Quick Picks

PickProductWhy
Higher stated weight ratingGoplus Rooftop Cargo Carrier Hard ShellGoplus rates it to 165 lbs, 40 lbs above the other box's stated 125 lbs limit. Check Price on Amazon
Strut-assisted lid and stated warrantyRough Country Rooftop Cargo Box 14.5 Cu FtAssist struts hold the lid open, a pull strap assists closure, and Rough Country states a 3-year limited warranty; the supplied Goplus listing does not state a warranty term. Check Price on Amazon

Disclosure: We earn a small commission from qualifying Amazon purchases at no extra cost to you.

Goplus Rooftop Cargo Carrier Hard Shell, 14 Cubic Feet Waterproof Car Roof Cargo Carrier w/Dual Side Opening, Security Key, 165LBS Capacity, for 17” to 22.8” Wide Crossbar Rack, Vehicle Cargo Box — Manufacturer product photo
Manufacturer product photo

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. This page contains affiliate links, and we may receive a commission if you buy through them — at no extra cost to you.

As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.

Last Updated: September 2026

Two hard-shell roof boxes, nearly identical on the capacity line, and completely different philosophies underneath. That is the whole story here. One prioritizes how much weight you can put up top and how many sides you can load from. The other prioritizes the lid mechanism, the seal, and a stated warranty.

This comparison is built entirely from published listing specifications, not hands-on use. This website does not do product research, and nothing below describes a product anyone here handled.

Products covered on this page
Product titles, images, feature bullets and prices below come from Amazon and were read at publish time; prices and availability change. As an Amazon Associate this site earns from qualifying purchases. Amazon supplies no written product description, so the one-line summary under each product is ours, generated from Amazon Creators title/features/specifications.
Goplus Rooftop Cargo Carrier Hard Shell, 14 Cubic Feet Waterproof Car Roof Cargo Carrier w/Dual Side Opening, Security Key, 165LBS Capacity, for 17” to 22.8” Wide Crossbar Rack, Vehicle Cargo Box
Goplus Rooftop Cargo Carrier Hard Shell, 14 Cubic Feet Waterproof Car Roof Cargo Carrier w/Dual Side Opening, Security Key, 165LBS Capacity, for 17” to 22.8” Wide Crossbar Rack, Vehicle Cargo Box
$495.99price read from Amazon at publish time
  • Perfect for Road Trip---Take the cargo box to the park, the beach, the sports field, or any place you need to store. Works on all vehicles with rack, suitable for cars, vans
  • 14 Cubic Feet Cargo Box ---With the large capacity, the roof cargo box can help you securely carry 14 cubic feet worth of essentials, can increase vehicle cargo space without
Feature bullets above are Amazon's own product data.
Amazon listing, priced $495.99 at the time this page was published. (generated from Amazon Creators title/features/specifications)
Check price on Amazon

Quick Answer

Buy the Goplus Rooftop Cargo Carrier Hard Shell if raw carrying weight and loading access matter most: Goplus rates it at 165 lbs capacity with a dual-sided opening, so you can load from the curb side or the street side depending on where you park. Check Price on Amazon

Buy the Rough Country Rooftop Cargo Box 14.5 Cu Ft for its strut-assisted lid and stated warranty: Rough Country lists integrated assist struts that hold the lid open, a pull strap for controlled closure, waterproof gasketing, and a 3-year limited warranty. The Goplus Rooftop Cargo Carrier Hard Shell states its own lid hardware — metal lid stiffeners at the bottom and a super latch that secures the lid to its base — but the supplied Goplus listing does not state a warranty term, which is missing counterpart data rather than a shortcoming. Check Price on Amazon

Here's the arithmetic: Rough Country states 14.46 cu ft and Goplus states 14 cubic feet, a stated difference of 0.46 cu ft. Whether that gap matters depends on what you actually pack and on the usable interior shape, which the supplied Goplus listing does not state. Load rating, lid hardware and fitment are the other stated variables to weigh.

Full Comparison Table

FeatureGoplus Rooftop Cargo Carrier Hard ShellRough Country Rooftop Cargo Box 14.5 Cu Ft
Stated capacity14 cubic feet14.46 cu ft
Stated interior dimensionsNot stated in the supplied listing65" L x 32" W x 13" H
Stated load rating165 lbsUp to 125 lbs, evenly distributed
Shell materialABS and PCHigh-impact UV-protected ABS
Opening styleDual side opening (not both at once)Not stated in the supplied listing
Lid hardwareMetal lid stiffeners, super latchIntegrated assist struts, pull strap
SecurityDouble-lock design, security keySecure locking lid
Weather sealingWaterproof, withstands varied weatherWaterproof gasketing
Mounting4 quick connect anchorsIncluded hardware, predrilled points, no drilling
Crossbar fit17" to 22.8" wide rack (the listing does not define how that width is measured); bar under 3.1" wide, under 1.0" thickMost cross rail roof rack systems
WarrantyNot stated in the supplied listing3-year limited
OriginNot stated in the supplied listingMade in the USA
PriceCheck Price on AmazonCheck Price on Amazon

Design & Build Quality

Both boxes are ABS shells, but the listings describe the material differently, and the difference is worth reading carefully.

Goplus states the box is manufactured from ABS and PC material, with metal lid stiffeners at the bottom that the listing says make the box more stable and safer. PC — polycarbonate — in the shell layup is a specific claim the other listing does not make. Metal stiffeners are a structural detail, and it is a reasonable inference that they exist to resist lid flex on a box this wide, though the listing does not quantify any stiffness figure.

Rough Country describes high-impact UV-protected ABS that resists fading, cracking, and long-term wear. UV protection is the specific word there. If the box lives on the roof year-round in strong sun rather than going into a garage between trips, that stated UV treatment is the more directly relevant claim of the two — Goplus's listing says the box is designed to withstand heavy use in different types of weather conditions, but does not specifically state UV protection.

Rough Country also states the box is made in the USA and backed by a 3-year limited warranty. The Goplus listing supplied here does not state a warranty length or country of manufacture. Note the scope: that means the information is absent from this listing, not that no warranty exists.

What is documented on outdoor exposure and backing: Rough Country states UV-protected ABS and a 3-year limited warranty. The supplied Goplus listing does not address UV protection or warranty length, so no comparison of outdoor durability or backing is established either way.

Features & Functionality

This is where the two boxes genuinely diverge, and it is the section that should decide your purchase.

Goplus's headline feature is dual side opening — access from either side of the vehicle. The listing pairs this with a real caution: do not open both sides at the same time, and the key only comes out once the cover is closed and locked. That second detail is a useful reminder feature as described: Goplus states that the key can only be removed after the cover is closed and locked. That stated key retention is not established as preventing driving with an unsecured lid, and the listing does not say it covers both opening sides, so follow the manufacturer's closing and locking instructions and check every latch point before each drive.

Rough Country's headline feature is the lid mechanism. Integrated assist struts hold the lid open for loading, and a built-in pull strap allows controlled closure — the listing specifically frames this as helpful with bulky or heavy items. Anyone who has reached for a roof box lid at full extension on a tall SUV understands the appeal of a strap that brings it back down.

Security language differs in specificity. Goplus states a double-lock design and a security key. Rough Country states a secure locking lid with theft-deterrent protection. Neither listing supplies a lock standard or rating, so a direct security comparison is not established by the supplied data.

What each listing documents: Goplus states a dual side opening, useful if you regularly load from a driveway on one side and a curb on the other, subject to its warning against opening both sides at once. Rough Country states integrated assist struts and a pull strap for lid handling. Neither listing establishes suitability for a particular person's reach, strength, or vehicle height, so follow each manufacturer's approved access and handling procedures.

Performance

Honestly, "performance" for a roof box comes down to three numbers: what fits, what it can hold, and what it fits onto.

Volume. Rough Country states 14.46 cu ft with interior dimensions of 65" L x 32" W x 13" H. Goplus states 14 cubic feet but the supplied listing does not state interior dimensions. That published dimension set helps with planning, though a single length figure does not establish fit or a flat usable floor; check all of the stated interior dimensions and the opening against the actual items you plan to carry, since the listing does not describe the interior shape or the opening size. For the Goplus Rooftop Cargo Carrier Hard Shell, interior dimensions are not stated in the supplied listing.

Load rating. Goplus rates the box at 165 lbs. Rough Country supports up to 125 lbs of evenly distributed cargo. That is a 40 lb gap, and it is the single largest spec difference between these two boxes. Critically, the box rating is not the only limit that matters — your vehicle's roof and your crossbars have their own manufacturer limits, and a vehicle's roof load allowance has to cover the crossbars and the empty carrier as well as the cargo, so these figures are not directly comparable. Consult your vehicle, rack and cargo box manuals together before loading. Neither listing establishes anything about your vehicle's roof capacity, and neither supplies a rack or empty-box weight.

If you are packing dense gear — tools, canned food, wet camping equipment, a heavy tent — weigh the actual load and check it against every applicable manufacturer limit. A higher stated box rating does not establish which limit binds first, since the vehicle roof allowance and the crossbar rating also have to cover the crossbars and the empty carrier.

Fit. Goplus publishes numeric fitment figures: a 17" to 22.8" wide rack, crossbar width under 3.1 inches, crossbar thickness under 1.0 inches. The listing does not define what the 17" to 22.8" width measures — bar spacing or bar length — so it is not a figure you can confidently check with a tape measure; ask Goplus to confirm the intended measurement before buying. Width and thickness are also not the only requirements: confirm the complete approved mounting, clearance and load conditions for your rack with each manufacturer. Rough Country states it installs on most cross rail roof rack systems using included hardware and predrilled mounting points, with no drilling required, which is a broader but vaguer claim.

On aerodynamics, Goplus states a sleek aerodynamic design intended to reduce drag with less noise. No wind noise figure or drag coefficient appears in either listing, so treat that as a design intent claim rather than a measured result.

Stated load ratings: Goplus states 165 lbs; Rough Country states up to 125 lbs evenly distributed. Those figures sit alongside your vehicle, rack and mounting limits rather than replacing them. Stated interior dimensions: Rough Country publishes them; the supplied Goplus listing does not, which is missing data rather than a smaller interior.

Price & Value

The supplied listings for the Goplus Rooftop Cargo Carrier Hard Shell and the Rough Country Rooftop Cargo Box 14.5 Cu Ft do not state prices or price positioning, so this page makes no claim about where either box sits in the market. Check current price on Amazon for both before deciding, since roof box pricing moves seasonally.

Value is not just the sticker. Rough Country's stated 3-year limited warranty is a quantified commitment, and warranties are one of the few value signals you can actually read off a spec sheet. The Goplus listing supplied here does not state a warranty term.

Against that, Goplus gives you 40 lbs more stated load capacity and a second loading side. If those two things map to how you actually pack, that is real functional value.

Which Should You Buy?

How We Research

Every figure on this page came from two source types and nothing else: Amazon Creators API verified product records for both ASINs, retrieved 2026-09-06, and the product listing feature bullets published on each Amazon listing on that same date.

We read both listings line by line, compared the stated figures directly against each other, and flagged where one listing publishes a number the other simply does not. Nobody here installed, loaded, weighed, or drove with either box. Where a spec is absent, we say it is not stated in the supplied listing rather than assuming a value.

For general product safety recalls and consumer guidance, the CPSC and USA.gov consumer protection are worth a look before any large accessory purchase.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which holds more weight, the Rough Country or the Goplus cargo box?

Goplus rates its box at 165 lbs capacity. Rough Country states support for up to 125 lbs of evenly distributed cargo. That is a 40 lb difference in favor of Goplus. Your vehicle's roof load allowance and your crossbar rating apply as well, and they are not directly comparable to a box's cargo rating, because a roof allowance has to cover the crossbars and the empty carrier along with the cargo. Consult your vehicle, rack and cargo box manuals together before loading.

Is 14.46 cu ft meaningfully bigger than 14 cubic feet?

The stated difference is 0.46 cu ft: Rough Country states 14.46 cu ft and Goplus states 14 cubic feet. Whether that matters depends on what you actually pack and on the usable interior shape and opening, which the supplied Goplus listing does not state. Load rating, lid mechanism and fitment are the other stated variables to weigh.

What is strut assisted versus dual side opening?

Rough Country uses integrated assist struts that hold the lid open plus a pull strap for controlled closure. Goplus uses a dual-sided opening so you can access the box from either side of the vehicle, though its listing warns not to open both sides at the same time.

Will these fit my roof rack?

Goplus states compatibility with 17" to 22.8" wide racks, with crossbars under 3.1 inches wide and under 1.0 inches thick, and says it suits round, square, factory and most aerodynamic bars; the listing does not define how that 17" to 22.8" width is measured, so confirm it with Goplus before relying on it. Rough Country states it installs on most cross rail roof rack systems with included hardware and predrilled mounting points, no drilling required, but the supplied listing does not publish a crossbar width range. For either box, confirm the complete approved mounting, clearance and load conditions with the box, rack and vehicle manufacturers.

Are both cargo boxes waterproof and lockable?

Both listings claim weather protection and locking. Rough Country states waterproof gasketing and a secure locking lid. Goplus states a waterproof design with a double-lock design and a security key. Neither listing supplies an ingress-protection rating or a lock standard.

Does either one come with a warranty?

Rough Country states a 3-year limited warranty and says the box is made in the USA. The Goplus listing supplied here does not state a warranty length — that means the figure is absent from this listing, not that no warranty is offered.

What are the interior dimensions of each box?

The supplied Rough Country Rooftop Cargo Box 14.5 Cu Ft listing states 65" L x 32" W x 13" H. The supplied Goplus Rooftop Cargo Carrier Hard Shell listing states 14 cubic feet of capacity, but interior dimensions are not stated in it.

Final Verdict

If you forced a single pick from the spec sheets alone, the Rough Country Rooftop Cargo Box 14.5 Cu Ft is the more completely documented product: stated interior dimensions of 65" L x 32" W x 13" H, UV-protected ABS, waterproof gasketing, assist struts with a pull strap, and a stated 3-year limited warranty. That is a statement about what each listing publishes: the supplied Goplus record simply omits interior dimensions, warranty and origin, which does not establish that either box is safer, more durable or better suited to a given load. Check Price on Amazon

If you pack heavy, the Goplus Rooftop Cargo Carrier Hard Shell states a 165 lbs rating and a dual side opening. Whether that suits your load is decided by the actual weighed cargo and by every manufacturer-defined limit for your vehicle roof, rack, mounts and the carrier itself, including the weight of the equipment, rather than by the box rating alone. Check Price on Amazon

Weigh your typical load and measure your crossbars, then check both against the vehicle, rack and carrier manufacturers' stated limits and approved mounting conditions — including the weight of the crossbars and the empty box — rather than deciding on the cubic feet on the label.

Sources & Methodology

This website did not physically test, load, install, or laboratory-evaluate either cargo box, and it runs no test facility. What informs this page is a close reading of the Amazon Creators API verified product records and the published product listing feature bullets for ASIN B07K75WXYJ and ASIN B0GMYM84TV, both retrieved on 2026-09-06, compared spec against spec with gaps left visibly open rather than guessed at.

For roof boxes specifically, that method takes a reader a long way, because the decisive variables — stated load rating, interior dimensions, crossbar fitment window, opening style, and warranty term — are all things the manufacturer publishes, though some are ambiguous as written and need confirmation from the manufacturer before you check them against a tape measure and your own vehicle's roof limit. What it cannot tell you is durability over seasons or real-world wind noise, neither of which appears as a published figure in either listing.

Explore More Reviews

Check out our in-depth reviews, comparisons, and buying guides.

Browse All Guides

Official Government Resources

CPSC consumer product safety

cpsc.gov

https://www.cpsc.gov/

These official government resources provide authoritative information on this topic.

Find Your Perfect Match

Expert guidance you can trust

Browse All Reviews