Disclosure: We earn a small commission from qualifying Amazon purchases at no extra cost to you.
As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.Last Updated: September 2026
Look, most rooftop cargo boxes read the same on a listing page: waterproof, lockable, universal fit. The spec sheet is where they actually separate. This review reads the published specifications for the Rough Country Rooftop Cargo Box 14.5 Cu Ft closely — the interior dimensions, the load rating, the shell material, the mounting method — and works out who those numbers actually serve. This website does not physically test products, so nothing below is a hands-on account. It is a specifications analysis.
Review at a Glance
| Product | Rough Country Rooftop Cargo Box 14.5 Cu Ft – Hard Shell Roof Rack Storage Carrier, Strut Assisted, Lockable & Weatherproof, No Drill Install |
|---|---|
| Price | |
| Capacity | 14.46 cu ft; 65" L x 32" W x 13" H interior |
| Load rating | Up to 125 lbs, evenly distributed |
| Shell | High-impact UV-protected ABS |
| Mounting | Most cross rail roof rack systems, included hardware, no drilling |
| Warranty | 3-year limited, made in the USA |
| Best For | Buyers who have weighed and measured their intended load against the published 14.46 cu ft, 65" x 32" x 13" interior and 125 lb evenly distributed rating, and who have confirmed their exact vehicle, rack, bar profile, bar spread, mounting method and clearances against Rough Country's fit guide |
Pros (all from the published listing)
- 14.46 cu ft of stated capacity with a long 65-inch interior floor.
- Assist struts hold the lid open, plus a pull strap for controlled closure.
- Waterproof gasketing and a locking lid for weather sealing and theft deterrence.
- No-drill install on most cross rail systems using included hardware and predrilled points.
- UV-protected ABS specified to resist fading and cracking; 3-year limited warranty.
- The 125 lb load rating is the ceiling the listing states for evenly distributed cargo; the listing includes no weighed pack-out, so weigh your intended load against it yourself.
- "Most cross rail roof rack systems" is a qualified fit claim, not a guarantee for every rack.
- The supplied listing information does not state the box's own empty weight, its exterior dimensions, or its crossbar spread range.
Quick Picks
| Product | Best For | Key Specification | Link |
|---|---|---|---|
| Rough Country Rooftop Cargo Box 14.5 Cu Ft | Loads you have weighed and measured against every applicable published limit | 14.46 cu ft, 65" L x 32" W x 13" H interior, 125 lb rated (evenly distributed) | Check Price on Amazon |
Overview: What the Listing and Specifications Show
The Rough Country Rooftop Cargo Box 14.5 Cu Ft is a hard-shell roof box that the listing says installs on most cross rail roof rack systems and expands cargo capacity by a stated 14.46 cubic feet. The manufacturer's listing gives interior dimensions of 65 inches long, 32 inches wide and 13 inches high, and rates the box to support up to 125 pounds of evenly distributed cargo.
Those four numbers do most of the work in deciding whether this box fits your trip. As labelled arithmetic, 125 lbs spread over 14.46 cu ft averages roughly 8.6 pounds per cubic foot — that average is not a safe allowance and does not establish which limit any particular load reaches first.
The supplied listing for the Rough Country Rooftop Cargo Box 14.5 Cu Ft (ASIN B0GMYM84TV) includes no weighed pack-out, so it does not establish whether a given load reaches the stated 125 lb evenly distributed rating or the stated 65" L x 32" W x 13" H interior dimensions first. Weigh and measure the load you actually intend to carry against every applicable limit before buying.
The shell is specified as high-impact UV-protected ABS, which the manufacturer says resists fading, cracking and long-term wear. Sealing comes from waterproof gasketing paired with a locking lid, and the box is described as installing on most cross rail roof rack systems with included hardware and predrilled mounting points, no drilling required. Rough Country states it is made in the USA and covered by a 3-year limited warranty.
Key Features & Specifications
| Specification | Published figure | What it implies for a buyer |
|---|---|---|
| Cargo volume | 14.46 cu ft | Manufacturer-stated volume; the listing does not establish what a given trip's load fills or weighs |
| Interior length | 65 inches | Stated interior floor length; measure your own items against it |
| Interior width | 32 inches | Stated interior width; measure your own items against it |
| Interior height | 13 inches | Stated interior height only; it does not establish exterior or installed profile |
| Load rating | Up to 125 lbs, evenly distributed | Manufacturer-stated cargo ceiling; weigh your load against it and every other applicable limit |
| Shell material | High-impact UV-protected ABS | Specified against fading, cracking and long-term wear |
| Lid mechanism | Integrated assist struts + built-in pull strap | Lid stays open during loading; strap gives controlled closure |
| Weather sealing | Waterproof gasketing, locking lid | Manufacturer cites protection from rain, snow, dust and road debris |
| Mounting | Most cross rail roof rack systems, included hardware, predrilled points | No drilling; described as easily removable when not needed |
| Origin & warranty | Made in the USA, 3-year limited warranty | Manufacturer-stated |
The 13-inch interior height is easy to misjudge
Honestly, buyers fixate on cubic feet and ignore interior height. The listing states 13 inches of interior height, and any of the usable internal dimensions — length, width or height — as well as the lid opening can be what limits whether a particular object fits. The listing does not state the opening side or size, so check the manufacturer's usable internal dimensions and loading instructions against the specific items you plan to carry.
The supplied listing does not state exterior dimensions or installed height, so the 13-inch interior figure says nothing about the box's profile once it is on your roof. Ask Rough Country for exterior dimensions if roof profile or garage clearance matters to you.
Expected Performance, Based on Manufacturer and Listing Data
The supplied listing does not include independent performance testing, so what follows is inference from published specifications — framed as inference, not as anything observed.
Capacity in practice. The manufacturer positions the 14.46 cu ft as suitable for luggage, camping gear and sports equipment. The listing documents no specific pack-out, so whether your items fit the usable internal dimensions and the lid opening is a measurement you should take yourself before buying.
Weather sealing. Rough Country cites waterproof gasketing and says the sealed, locking lid helps shield gear from rain, snow, dust and road debris. That is the seller's own claim, not independent verification, and "helps shield" is the manufacturer's own hedge. Those remain seller claims about the sealing design rather than an established result for the finished product in road and weather use, so pack anything moisture-sensitive in a dry bag as cheap insurance.
Security. The lid locks, and the manufacturer describes that as theft-deterrent. Deterrent is the right word. A locking plastic lid raises the effort required; the supplied listing does not claim a security rating or standard, and no roof box should be treated as a safe for valuables.
Loading ergonomics. Integrated assist struts hold the lid open and a built-in pull strap allows controlled closure, which the manufacturer notes is especially helpful with bulky or heavy items. That is the extent of what the listing describes. It states no empty weight, handling procedure or roof-access method, so it does not establish whether loading this box is manageable for you or can be done by one person; follow the manufacturer's approved handling and access instructions.
What is not established. The supplied listing information does not state the empty weight of the box, the exterior dimensions, the compatible crossbar spread, the opening side, or any aerodynamic or fuel-economy figure. Do not assume those from this page.
Build Quality & Design
This section reads materials and construction from the published specification only; nobody here inspected a unit.
The shell is specified as high-impact UV-protected ABS. ABS is a common hard-shell roof box material, and the UV-protection callout matters more than it sounds — a roof box lives in direct sun on a schedule no other part of your vehicle keeps. The manufacturer specifically claims resistance to fading, cracking and long-term wear, which is a claim about sun and cycle exposure rather than about impact resistance from cargo.
The 125 lb evenly distributed rating is the structural number to respect. The listing states that figure for evenly distributed cargo but supplies no loading pattern, so follow Rough Country's own loading instructions rather than a rule of thumb. Also worth stating plainly — the box's rating is not your vehicle's rating. The listing gives 125 lbs for the Rough Country Rooftop Cargo Box 14.5 Cu Ft, while your roof rack and vehicle manufacturers publish their own roof load limits, which may be defined differently and may or may not include the weight of the rack, the empty box or other equipment. Observe every applicable limit as its own manufacturer defines it, including any equipment and cargo weights those definitions cover, and note that the supplied listing does not state the box's empty weight, so consult your vehicle and rack manuals to work out how much cargo you can actually carry.
The mounting design uses predrilled points and included hardware on most cross rail roof rack systems, and the manufacturer describes it as easily removable when not needed. For a shopper who leases, or who only needs the box three weekends a year, a no-drill, removable design is a genuinely different proposition from a permanent installation.
Rough Country states the box is made in the USA and backs it with a 3-year limited warranty. The listing does not detail what that limited warranty covers, so read the manufacturer's warranty terms before assuming a specific failure is included.
Value for Money
Check the current price on Amazon — this page does not quote a figure, because roof box pricing moves and a stale number helps nobody.
What you can assess without a price is what you are being offered. The value case here rests on four published specifics: 14.46 cu ft of volume, a 125 lb load rating, strut-assisted lid hardware, and a 3-year limited warranty on a US-made ABS shell. Roof boxes in general split into stripped-down shells and feature-carrying ones; assist struts, gasketed sealing and a locking lid are all on the feature side of that line.
The honest counterweight: the supplied evidence gives no comparative pricing or competing specifications, so this page cannot tell you the box is cheaper, tougher or roomier than a rival. Judge it on whether 14.46 cu ft at 125 lbs solves your specific packing problem, then check where the price lands.
Who Should Buy This
Buy it if:
- Rough Country's fit guide confirms your exact vehicle and rack, including bar profile, bar spread, the mounting method and clearances, and the listing's no-drill installation suits you.
- You have weighed and measured your typical load and it stays within the stated 14.46 cu ft, the 65" x 32" x 13" interior and the 125 lb evenly distributed rating, as well as your vehicle and rack limits.
- You want the listed assist struts that hold the lid open and the pull strap for controlled closure.
- You want the box off the roof between trips; the manufacturer describes it as easily removable.
- You want the gear sealed and locked in transit, and treat the lock as deterrence rather than security.
- Your weighed load exceeds the 125 lb evenly distributed rating, or any applicable vehicle or rack limit, before it fills 14.46 cu ft.
- Your items do not fit the manufacturer's usable internal dimensions or the lid opening.
- Rough Country's fit guide does not confirm your exact vehicle, rack, bar profile, bar spread, mounting method and clearances. The manufacturer's fit claim is scoped to most cross rail systems, and bare-roof vehicles need a rack first.
- You need a published exterior dimension or empty weight before committing — the supplied listing does not state either, so confirm with Rough Country directly.
How We Research
This website does not perform hands-on or laboratory testing, and it does not own the products it writes about. For this page, the research consisted of reading the Amazon Creators API verified product record for ASIN B0GMYM84TV, retrieved 2026-09-06, along with each of the product listing feature bullets published with it.
From there, the analysis is arithmetic and interpretation: comparing the stated volume against the stated load rating as labelled arithmetic, restating the interior dimensions you can measure your own items against, and separating manufacturer claims from independently verified facts. Where the supplied record is silent — exterior dimensions, empty weight, crossbar spread — this page says so rather than filling the gap.
For general context on consumer product safety and recalls, the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission and USA.gov's consumer protection resources are the authoritative starting points.
Frequently Asked Questions
How much can the Rough Country rooftop cargo box hold?
The manufacturer's listing states 14.46 cubic feet of capacity with interior dimensions of 65 inches long, 32 inches wide and 13 inches high, and rates it to support up to 125 pounds of evenly distributed cargo. The supplied listing includes no weighed pack-out, so it does not establish which of those limits a given load reaches first; weigh and measure your intended cargo against both, and against your vehicle and rack limits.
Does the Rough Country cargo box require drilling to install?
No. The manufacturer states it installs on most cross rail roof rack systems using included hardware and predrilled mounting points, with no drilling required, and describes it as easily removable when not needed.
Will it fit my roof rack?
The listing's fit claim is scoped to most cross rail roof rack systems. That is a qualified claim, not a universal one, and the supplied listing information does not state a compatible crossbar spread range or an explicit bolt-on method. For every rack, confirm with Rough Country's fit guide that your exact vehicle, bar profile, bar spread, mounting method and clearances are approved before ordering.
Is the Rough Country rooftop cargo box waterproof?
The manufacturer states it uses waterproof gasketing and a secure locking lid, which it says helps shield gear from rain, snow, dust and road debris. That is the seller's published claim rather than independent verification, so packing moisture-sensitive items in dry bags remains sensible insurance.
What is the cargo box made of, and is it covered by a warranty?
The shell is specified as high-impact UV-protected ABS, which the manufacturer says resists fading, cracking and long-term wear. Rough Country states the box is made in the USA and backed by a 3-year limited warranty; check the manufacturer's terms for what that limited coverage includes.
What does the strut-assisted lid actually do?
Integrated assist struts hold the lid open so it does not fall shut while you load, and a built-in pull strap allows controlled closure. The manufacturer notes this is especially helpful with bulky or heavy items. The listing states no empty weight or handling procedure, so it does not establish that one person can load the box; follow the manufacturer's approved handling and access instructions.
Can I leave it mounted year-round?
The manufacturer describes the box as easily removable when not needed and specifies UV-protected ABS against fading and cracking, but the supplied listing information does not state a recommendation about permanent year-round mounting. Your vehicle and rack manufacturers publish their own roof load and long-term mounting guidance, and those govern.
Final Verdict
The Rough Country Rooftop Cargo Box 14.5 Cu Ft is a clearly specified box: a stated 14.46 cu ft of volume with a 125 lb evenly distributed cargo rating. The supplied listing includes no weighed pack-out, so those figures do not by themselves establish which loads it suits; weigh and measure your own gear against them and against your vehicle and rack limits.
The features worth noting are concrete rather than marketing. Assist struts hold the lid open and a pull strap allows controlled closure. Rough Country states waterproof gasketing and a locking lid that help shield gear from rain, snow, dust and road debris — the seller's claim rather than a verified result. A no-drill install on most cross rail systems, plus easy removal, means it does not have to be a permanent commitment to your vehicle's roofline, provided the fit guide confirms your vehicle and rack.
My reservation is the one the spec sheet creates: the stated interior is 65 x 32 x 13 inches with a 125 lb evenly distributed cargo rating, and the listing states neither exterior dimensions nor empty weight. Measure your bulkiest items against the manufacturer's usable internal dimensions and lid opening before you buy, confirm your exact vehicle, rack, bar profile, bar spread, mounting method and clearances against Rough Country's fit guide, and check your vehicle's and rack's own roof load limits as each manufacturer defines them alongside the box's 125 lb cargo rating — every applicable limit applies.
For buyers whose weighed and measured load and confirmed rack fit within all of those limits, it is worth a look.
Sources & Methodology
Nothing on this page came from a garage, a wind tunnel or a loaded roof rack. This website did not physically or laboratory-test this cargo box; the analysis is built entirely on the Amazon Creators API verified product record for ASIN B0GMYM84TV retrieved on 2026-09-06 and the product listing feature bullets published alongside it.
For a roof box, that turns out to be a reasonably strong evidence base for the questions buyers actually ask first: how much fits, how much weight is permitted, what it is made from, how it mounts and how long it is warranted are all published figures you can plan a trip around. What documentation cannot settle is real-world wind noise, long-term seal durability or how a specific bag pack-out nests — for those, read owner feedback on the listing and check your vehicle manufacturer's roof load guidance before you load up.