Review at a Glance
| Field | Detail |
|---|---|
| Product | Thule Pulse 2 L Roof Mounted Box, 16 Cubic Ft, Dual-Side Opening |
| Price | |
| Capacity (published) | 450 litres / 16 cubic ft |
| Load capacity (published) | 75 kg |
| Opening | Dual-side, opens from either side of the vehicle |
| Shell material | ASA-ABS plastic |
| Mounting | Tool-free system with torque indicator that clicks when safely attached |
| Best For | Commuters, day trips and weekend escapes; luggage, gear, skis and snowboards |
Disclosure: We earn a small commission from qualifying Amazon purchases at no extra cost to you.
As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.Last Updated: September 2026
Look, most roof box shopping goes wrong in the same place: people fixate on cubic feet and forget that the box has to clear a hatchback tailgate, mount without tools they don't own, and hold a load their crossbars can actually carry. The Thule Pulse 2 L Roof Mounted Box, 16 Cubic Ft, Dual-Side Opening is worth a close read because its published spec sheet covers tool-free mounting, a stated 75 kg box load capacity, and a forward roof position the listing says gives full trunk access with minimal risk of contact with the cargo box, though it states nothing about what your crossbars are rated to carry.
This is a specifications review. Nobody on this website has mounted, loaded, driven with, or physically handled this box — we read the published listing data closely and tell you what it implies. That distinction matters, and we keep it visible throughout.
Supported strengths
- 450 litres of stated cargo space with a 75 kg load rating covering luggage, gear, skis and snowboards. [S3]
- Dual-side opening, so you can reach gear from either side of the car. [S3]
- Tool-free mounting with a torque indicator that clicks when the box is safely attached. [S3]
- ASA-ABS shell that the listing describes as resisting sun, scratches and weather. [S3]
- Mounts forward on the roof for full trunk access with minimal risk of contact with the box. [S3]
- The 75 kg load capacity is a ceiling, and it says nothing about what your own roof rack or vehicle roof is rated to carry — that number comes from your car, not this box. [S3]
- The supplied listing information does not state exterior dimensions, box weight, lock type, ski length capacity, or warranty terms.
- The listing calls the shape "streamlined" and says it suits a wide variety of modern vehicles, but publishes no fit list and no aerodynamic or fuel-economy figure. [S3]
Quick Picks
| Product | Published capacity | Published load rating | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Thule Pulse 2 L Roof Mounted Box | 450 litres / 16 cu ft [S3] | 75 kg [S3] | Commuting, day trips and weekend escapes; skis and snowboards [S3] |
Only one Thule Pulse model has a supplied product record here, so this table has one row. We are not going to pad it with models whose specifications we cannot verify.
Overview: What the Listing and Specifications Show
The Pulse 2 L is positioned by its own listing as a simple, durable roof box built for commuting, day trips and weekend escapes. [S3] That framing is doing real work. It is not sold as an expedition box or a track-day equipment hauler — it is sold as extra volume for ordinary trips.
The headline numbers are 450 litres of cargo space and a 75 kg load capacity, with the listing naming luggage, gear, skis and snowboards as intended contents. [S3] Sixteen cubic feet is the rounded imperial expression of that figure, which is why the Amazon product title carries it.
Here's the thing about 450 litres: the listing for the Thule Pulse 2 L Roof Mounted Box, 16 Cubic Ft, Dual-Side Opening states 450 litres of cargo space and a 75 kg load capacity, and those are separate limits. [S3] Weigh and measure what you actually intend to pack against the usable space and the opening, and against every defined vehicle, rack and box load limit, rather than assuming a cargo type decides which limit you meet first. The supplied listing information gives neither your roof limit nor the box's empty weight. [S3]
The rest of the published spec sheet is about access and mounting: dual-side opening, a tool-free attachment system with a torque indicator that clicks when safely attached and confirms closure, a streamlined shape said to suit a wide variety of modern vehicles, an ASA-ABS shell described as resisting sun, scratches and weather, and forward roof positioning intended to preserve full trunk access with minimal risk of contact with the box. [S3]
Key Features and Specifications
| Specification | Published value | What it means for a buyer |
|---|---|---|
| Cargo volume | 450 litres (16 cubic ft) [S3] | Bulk-luggage territory. Whether volume or weight limits you first depends on what you pack and on your vehicle's roof load rating, which the supplied listing information does not state. |
| Load capacity | 75 kg [S3] | An upper limit set by the box. Your rack rating and your vehicle's dynamic roof load are separate limits, and the supplied listing information does not state them or the box's own empty weight. |
| Opening | Dual-side [S3] | The listing states you can access your gear easily from either side of the vehicle. Load only in a safe, permitted location using approved access and handling methods. |
| Attachment | Tool-free, torque indicator clicks when safely attached [S3] | The click is the confirmation signal the manufacturer describes. Follow Thule's complete approved installation, positioning, torque and closure procedures for your exact vehicle, rack and box. |
| Closure confirmation | Confirms closure [S3] | The listing states the system confirms closure; it does not describe the locking hardware. |
| Shell material | ASA-ABS plastic [S3] | The sun, scratch and weather resistance claim is the listing's own description; no test standard or weathering rating is stated in the supplied listing information. |
| Roof position | Forward-mounted for full trunk access [S3] | The listing describes a forward position intended to give full trunk access with minimal risk of contact with the box; it names no specific body styles, and states only that the shape suits a wide variety of modern vehicles. |
| Stated use cases | Commuting, day trips, weekend escapes; luggage, gear, skis, snowboards [S3] | The manufacturer's own framing. Treat it as scope, not as a performance guarantee. |
Thule Pulse 2 M vs Pulse 2 L: what we can and cannot tell you
Shoppers search this comparison constantly, and we will be straight with you: only the L variant has a supplied product record on this page. The L is published at 450 litres and 16 cubic feet with a 75 kg load capacity. [S3] We have no verified specification record for the M size here, so we are not going to quote its volume, its load rating, or its dimensions from memory.
What you can take from the L's numbers is a starting point. The Thule Pulse 2 L Roof Mounted Box, 16 Cubic Ft, Dual-Side Opening is published at 450 litres with a 75 kg load capacity, and the listing names luggage, gear, skis and snowboards as intended contents. [S3] The supplied listing information states no internal dimensions, ski length or luggage-count guidance, so compare the full exact dimensions, usable space and opening, approved vehicle, rack and mount fit, clearances, empty box and rack weight and every defined vehicle, rack and box load limit for each model on its own product page before you decide.
Expected Performance, Based on Manufacturer and Listing Data
We did not drive with this box, so nothing here is an observed result. These are inferences from published figures, and they are labelled as inferences.
Loading, inferred. Dual-side opening is a genuinely practical feature and the listing states it plainly: access your gear easily from either side of the vehicle. [S3] That describes access from either side of the vehicle; whether it is usable depends on a safe, permitted location and approved access and handling methods, and the feature alone does not establish that you can avoid traffic or handle the box alone. That is convenience, not performance.
Mounting, inferred. The listing describes a secure, tool-free system with a torque indicator that clicks when safely attached and confirms closure. [S3] That is the manufacturer's own description of the attachment system; the supplied listing information includes no independent verification of it, and the click does not establish complete safe mounting or closure on its own. The listing does not state a compatible crossbar width range, so follow Thule's complete approved installation, positioning, torque and closure procedures for your exact vehicle, rack and box before and after fitting.
Weather and UV, inferred. The listing states the shell is hardwearing ASA-ABS plastic that resists sun, scratches and weather. [S3] The supplied listing information does not state a UV test standard, a warranty term, or a waterproofing rating, so treat "resists weather" as the manufacturer's descriptive claim, not a certified ingress rating.
Aerodynamics, honestly. The listing describes a streamlined shape designed to suit a wide variety of modern vehicles. [S3] It publishes no drag coefficient and no fuel-economy figure, and neither do we. Any roof box changes how a car behaves in crosswinds and at speed; follow your vehicle manufacturer's roof-load and speed guidance rather than assuming a shape description covers it.
Build Quality and Design
This section is read off the materials and design description, not off physical inspection.
The shell material is stated as ASA-ABS plastic. [S3] The supplied listing information states no polymer chemistry detail, service life, UV standard or warranty term for this shell. The listing's phrasing — hardwearing ASA-ABS plastic that resists sun, scratches, and weather — is the seller's own claim, and we cannot extend it into a durability or service-life conclusion. [S3]
The forward roof position is a design decision the listing ties to a specific claim: full trunk access with minimal risk of contact with the cargo box. [S3] The listing attributes this to the box's forward position on the vehicle roof; it does not state exterior dimensions, mounting footprint, crossbar spacing or overhang, so we cannot say where the box sits relative to your rear glass or windscreen.
What the supplied record does not tell us is also worth naming once: no exterior dimensions, no empty weight, no lock or key specification, no maximum ski length, and no warranty length are stated in the listing information supplied here. Those are real gaps for a buyer measuring garage clearance or checking whether 200 cm skis fit, and we would rather flag them than guess.
Value for Money
Check current price on Amazon before you weigh this, because a roof box's value case moves with its price and we do not publish figures that go stale on a static page.
What we can assess is what you get on paper. Three published features stand out on the spec sheet: dual-side opening, a torque-indicating tool-free mount, and an ASA-ABS shell the listing describes as resisting sun, scratches and weather. [S3] The Thule Pulse 2 L Roof Mounted Box, 16 Cubic Ft, Dual-Side Opening carries all three alongside its stated 450 litres of cargo space. [S3] No customer feedback or competing-product records are supplied here, so we cannot say how that compares with cheaper boxes.
The honest counterweight: the listing does not publish dimensions, weight, lock details, or warranty terms, so a like-for-like value comparison against a rival box you are cross-shopping has to be done on those rivals' own spec pages. We can tell you what this box states about itself; we cannot rank it against products whose records we do not have.
Who Should Buy This
Buy it if you ski or snowboard. The manufacturer names skis and snowboards among the intended contents, alongside luggage and general gear. [S3] Confirm your ski length against Thule's own dimension sheet, since the supplied listing information does not state an internal length.
Note the dual-side opening if kerbside access matters. The listing states you can access your gear easily from either side of the vehicle. [S3] Load and unload only in a safe, permitted location using approved access and handling methods; the feature alone does not establish safe solo handling or traffic avoidance.
Note the attachment method if you are comparing fitting systems. The listing describes a secure, tool-free attachment system with a torque indicator that clicks when safely attached. [S3] That is the seller's description; no independent verification of the mechanism is in the supplied listing information, and the complete approved installation, positioning, torque and closure procedures for your exact vehicle, rack and box still apply.
Think twice if you have not weighed and measured your load. The listing states a 75 kg load capacity for the Thule Pulse 2 L Roof Mounted Box, 16 Cubic Ft, Dual-Side Opening. [S3] Check your actual contents against the usable space and opening and against every defined load limit rather than relying on whether the load is dense or bulky. Your vehicle's dynamic roof load, which has to cover the rack, the empty box and the cargo together, is not stated in the supplied listing information, so check it in your owner's manual.
Think twice if you need exact fit certainty right now. Crossbar compatibility, exterior dimensions, clearances, empty box weight and the vehicle and rack load limits are not stated in the supplied listing information, and those are measure-twice decisions.
How We Research
Our analysis for this page came from two source types and nothing else: the Amazon Creators API verified product record for ASIN B0G8BQ691W, and the product listing feature bullets published on that listing, both retrieved on 6 September 2026. [S3]
We read each published bullet in full, separate the stated numbers (450 litres, 16 cubic feet, 75 kg) from the descriptive marketing language ("streamlined", "hardwearing", "durable"), and then reason about what the stated numbers imply for real packing and mounting decisions. [S3] Where a specification a buyer would want is simply absent from the supplied record — dimensions, weight, warranty, lock type — we say so instead of substituting a plausible figure.
No physical testing, mounting, loading or driving was performed by this website. For general consumer product safety guidance and recall information, readers can consult the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission [S1] and USA.gov's consumer protection resources [S2].
Frequently Asked Questions
The listing states 450 litres of cargo space, which the product title expresses as a rounded 16 cubic feet, with a 75 kg load capacity. [S3] Volume and weight are separate limits, so weigh and measure what you plan to pack against the usable space and opening and against every defined vehicle, rack and box load limit.
Does the Thule Pulse 2 open from both sides?
Yes. The listing states you can access your gear easily from either side of the vehicle. [S3] That is what the "Dual-Side Opening" in the product name refers to.
Do I need tools to fit it?
The manufacturer describes a secure, tool-free system with a torque indicator that clicks when safely attached, and states that it confirms closure. [S3] That description does not by itself establish complete safe mounting, so follow Thule's complete approved installation, positioning, torque and closure procedures for your exact vehicle, rack and box. The supplied listing information does not state which crossbar types or widths are compatible.
Will it block my tailgate or trunk?
The listing states it allows full trunk access with minimal risk of contact with the cargo box, thanks to its forward position on the vehicle roof. [S3] That claim is about the box's mounting position, so actual clearance still depends on your vehicle and where your crossbars sit.
What is the Pulse 2 L made of, and will it survive being left outside?
It uses hardwearing ASA-ABS plastic that the listing says resists sun, scratches and weather. [S3] That is the seller's own description, and no polymer chemistry detail, UV standard, waterproofing rating or warranty term is stated in the supplied listing information.
Can it carry skis and snowboards?
The manufacturer names skis and snowboards among the intended contents alongside luggage and gear. [S3] The supplied listing information does not state a maximum ski length, so confirm the internal dimensions against your longest pair before buying.
How does the Pulse 2 L compare to the Pulse 2 M?
We only have a verified product record for the L here, published at 450 litres and 16 cubic feet with a 75 kg load capacity. [S3] Rather than quote M-size figures we cannot verify, we would point you to that model's own listing, and compare full exact dimensions, usable space and opening, approved vehicle, rack and mount fit, clearances, empty box and rack weight and every defined vehicle, rack and box load limit before choosing between them.
Final Verdict
The Thule Pulse 2 L Roof Mounted Box, 16 Cubic Ft, Dual-Side Opening reads, on paper, like a box that solves the three problems that actually annoy roof box owners: it opens from either side, it fits without tools and has a torque indicator the manufacturer says clicks when it is safely attached, and the listing says its forward position on the roof gives full trunk access with minimal risk of contact with the box, though no dimensions or body styles are stated to confirm clearance on any given vehicle. [S3] Add 450 litres of stated volume and a 75 kg load rating, and the manufacturer's stated scope is commuting, day trips and weekend escapes, carrying luggage, gear, skis and snowboards. [S3]
Our opinionated take: the torque indicator is the most interesting line on the spec sheet, though the listing's wording that it "clicks when safely attached" is the seller's own and carries no supplied test standard or independent verification. [S3] The 450 litres of stated cargo space is the headline number. [S3]
The caveat is scope, not quality. Dimensions, empty weight, lock details, ski length capacity and warranty terms are not stated in the supplied listing information, and those are exactly the fields you want before you commit to a garage-height or crossbar decision. Get those from Thule's fit guide, then buy on the strength of the numbers that are published.
Related reading on this site: how to choose a roof rack crossbar and roof box vs cargo bag.
Sources and Methodology
This website did not physically test, mount, load or laboratory-evaluate the Thule Pulse 2 L, and it operates no test facility. What we did was read the Amazon Creators API verified product record and the published listing feature bullets for ASIN B0G8BQ691W, retrieved 6 September 2026, and work through what each stated figure — 450 litres, 16 cubic feet, 75 kg, ASA-ABS construction, dual-side opening, torque-indicating tool-free mount — implies for packing, fitting and everyday use. [S3]
For a roof box, that kind of specification reading gets you a long way: capacity, load ceiling, material and access method are all published. What it cannot settle for you is fitment against your specific crossbars, long-term durability, or wind noise, because no supplied source addresses those. Cross-check fit against Thule's own vehicle, rack and box guidance — including exact dimensions, clearances, empty box and rack weight and every defined load limit — before ordering, and consult CPSC recall listings if product safety history matters to your purchase. [S1]