StowAway Max Hitch Cargo Box Review (2026): Big Box, Full Rear Access

StowAway Max Hitch Cargo Box Review (2026): Big Box, Full Rear Access

Updated October 2026

StowAway Max hitch cargo box review: 16 cu ft, a 200 lb load rating and a swingaway frame. What the published specs mean...

15 min read

Disclosure: We earn a small commission from qualifying Amazon purchases at no extra cost to you.

StowAway Max Hitch Cargo Box with Swingaway Frame | Black — Manufacturer product photo
Manufacturer product photo
As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.

Last Updated: September 2026

Most cargo solutions make you trade something away. Roof boxes put your gear above your head and in the wind. Open hitch trays leave duffels exposed to rain and road spray. The StowAway Max Hitch Cargo Box with Swingaway Frame | Black is aimed at the buyer who refuses both trades: a hard-shell, lockable box that mounts to the hitch receiver and, per StowAway, pivots out of the way when you need the hatch.

Here is the honest framing. Every fact below comes from the published product listing for ASIN B002TWFU52, retrieved on September 6, 2026. This website does not do product research, so you will not find a loading anecdote or a highway-noise report here. What you get instead is a close read of what StowAway actually publishes, what those numbers imply for a real driveway, and where the published record goes quiet.

Check Price on Amazon

Review at a Glance

FieldDetail
Price
Best ForSUV, minivan and crossover owners who need frequent rear-door access while carrying a large enclosed load
Capacity16 cubic feet of enclosed cargo space (manufacturer)
Load rating200 lb (manufacturer)
Rear accessSwingaway frame pivots the box away from the vehicle (manufacturer)
Security and lightingKeyed locking latch, hitch tightener, lit license plate bracket, LED taillights (manufacturer)
OriginAssembled in the Pacific Northwest, made in the USA (manufacturer)

Supported strengths

Limitations worth knowing
Products covered on this page
Product titles, images, feature bullets and prices below come from Amazon and were read at publish time; prices and availability change. As an Amazon Associate this site earns from qualifying purchases. Amazon supplies no written product description, so the one-line summary under each product is ours, generated from Amazon Creators title/features/specifications.
StowAway Max Hitch Cargo Box with Swingaway Frame | Black
StowAway Max Hitch Cargo Box with Swingaway Frame | Black
$1,248.00price read from Amazon at publish time
  • MAXIMUM STORAGE & CAPACITY – 16 cubic feet of enclosed cargo space and a 200 lb load rating provide plenty of room for luggage, camping gear, tools, and more while keeping your
  • FULL REAR ACCESS WITH SWINGAWAY FRAME – The StowAway Swingaway frame pivots the box away from the vehicle, giving unobstructed access to your rear doors, hatch, or tailgate
Feature bullets above are Amazon's own product data.
Amazon listing, priced $1,248.00 at the time this page was published. (generated from Amazon Creators title/features/specifications)
Check price on Amazon

Quick Picks

ProductBest ForHeadline SpecificationLink
StowAway Max Hitch Cargo Box with Swingaway Frame | BlackBuyers who want an enclosed, locking hitch box and still need the tailgate to open16 cubic feet of enclosed space, 200 lb load rating, Swingaway frameCheck Price on Amazon

Overview: What the Listing and Specifications Show

A hitch mounted hard cargo box is an enclosed, lockable shell that attaches to your receiver instead of your roof. The StowAway Max is that category's large end: StowAway rates the Max at 16 cubic feet of enclosed cargo space with a 200 lb load rating.

Those two numbers do most of the explaining. Sixteen cubic feet is the volume argument, and 200 pounds is the weight argument, and they are not the same constraint. Which limit you reach first depends on what you pack, and no pack-out or density data is supplied here, so weigh your cargo and check it against both rather than assuming either one binds.

The second headline is access. According to the listing, the StowAway Swingaway frame pivots the box away from the vehicle, giving unobstructed access to rear doors, a hatch or a tailgate without removing the carrier. That is the entire reason this product exists. No competing carrier prices were supplied for this review, so compare current offers and included features yourself.

Worth being precise about scope: the listing describes the mechanism and its purpose. It does not state the swing angle, the swing direction, or the mechanism's release type, so treat "unobstructed access" as the manufacturer's description rather than a measured clearance figure.

If you are still weighing mounting locations, this site's roof box versus hitch box comparison walks through the tradeoffs in general terms.

Key Features and Specifications

SpecificationWhat StowAway publishesWhat it likely means for a buyer
Enclosed capacity16 cubic feetManufacturer's stated volume; confirm usable internal dimensions and opening size against your own gear
Load rating200 lbManufacturer's stated weight limit; weigh your cargo, since the listing does not show which limit a given load reaches first
Rear accessSwingaway frame pivots the box away from the vehicleSuggests the hatch can be used without unloading or unbolting the carrier
Shell materialMolded from the same impact-resistant polymer used in whitewater kayaksImplies a shell chosen for impact and weather resistance rather than looks
SecurityKeyed locking latchLocking is integral to the box, not a bolt-on aftermarket hasp
Mounting hardwareHitch tightener includedListed as included hardware; the listing does not state how much receiver play it removes
VisibilityLit license plate bracket and LED taillightsAddresses the plate-and-lights problem a rear box creates by covering the bumper
OriginAssembled in the Pacific Northwest, made in the USAManufacturer's origin claim; parts sourcing is not detailed in the listing

Check Price on Amazon

Expected Performance, Based on Manufacturer and Listing Data

Start with the payload math, because it is the part shoppers get wrong. A 200 lb load rating spread across 16 cubic feet works out to roughly 12.5 pounds per cubic foot as a ratio of the two published figures. That arithmetic does not prove any particular load fits: the supplied listing information gives no density or pack-out data for duffel bags, tents or hand tools, so weigh what you plan to carry.

The practical read: both limits apply at once. Whatever you carry, keep the contents within the 200 lb load rating StowAway publishes for the StowAway Max Hitch Cargo Box with Swingaway Frame | Black, and check the load's bulk against the usable internal dimensions and opening, which the supplied listing information does not state. Your hitch receiver's rating is a separate check, and it has to carry the loaded carrier — the empty carrier plus whatever you put inside it — not the cargo alone. The supplied listing information does not state the carrier's empty weight, so that figure has to come from StowAway before you can work out how much cargo your receiver actually allows.

That second check matters, and it is not the same arithmetic. The supplied listing information does not state a required hitch receiver class, a tongue-weight requirement or the carrier's empty weight, so the box's 200 lb load rating and your vehicle's or hitch's ratings cannot be lined up against each other from the published record alone: a receiver or tongue-weight figure has to cover the carrier's own weight as well as the cargo. Get the carrier's empty weight and the receiver requirement from StowAway, and your vehicle's rating from its own documentation, before deciding how much to load.

On security, the listing specifies a keyed locking latch. A keyed latch deters casual opening. It is not a statement about pry resistance or theft of the carrier itself, and the listing makes no such claim, so read it as "locks closed," not "secure storage."

On weather, StowAway describes the construction as durable and weather-resistant. Weather-resistant is the manufacturer's word, and the supplied listing information contains no matched weather-protection data that would let it be ranked against any other carrier type. It is not a submersion or waterproof rating, and no ingress rating appears in the supplied listing information.

Build Quality and Design, Read From the Materials Listed

The material claim is the most interesting line in the whole listing. StowAway says the Max Cargo Box is molded from the same impact-resistant polymer used in whitewater kayaks, and adds that it withstands years of heavy use and harsh weather conditions.

That analogy is the manufacturer's own, and the supplied listing information gives no resin grade, test standard, or UV, cold-weather or impact result for this box. StowAway pairs the analogy with the claim that the box withstands years of heavy use and harsh weather conditions; treat both as the seller's description rather than measured real-world durability or an advantage over other material choices.

Keep the inference honest, though. The listing names the polymer family by analogy, not by resin grade, wall thickness, molding process or UV-stabilizer package, and no impact standard is cited. "Same polymer used in whitewater kayaks" tells you the design intent, not the test data.

The hardware list reads like it was assembled by someone who understands what a box mounted over a license plate creates. The listing includes a hitch tightener, a lit license plate bracket and LED taillights for a box that sits over your bumper and plate. The supplied listing information does not say how much play the tightener removes or how the lights are wired, and their inclusion does not by itself mean your plate-visibility and lighting requirements are satisfied — verify the actual fitting and wiring on your vehicle.

Value for Money

Check current price on Amazon, then judge it against what is bundled rather than against the box alone. The listing includes the Swingaway frame, a keyed locking latch, a hitch tightener, a lit license plate bracket and LED taillights in the product description, which is a different value proposition from a bare shell that needs a lighting kit added.

The honest value question is how often you need the tailgate. No prices for fixed carriers were supplied here, so compare current offers and included features rather than assuming the pivot carries a cost penalty. If you load once, drive to a destination and unload once, you will use the pivot twice. If you are road-tripping with a dog, a cooler and daily hotel stops, the Swingaway frame is the feature you bought.

One more factor buyers underweight: a rear-mounted box moves the load off the roof. How high the loading opening actually sits depends on your vehicle and hitch, and no mounted height appears in the supplied listing information, so measure it once installed rather than assuming a comfortable loading height.

Who Should Buy the StowAway Max

Who should think twice

Check Price on Amazon

How We Research

This review was assembled from two source types and nothing else: an Amazon Creators API verified product record for ASIN B002TWFU52, and that listing's own product feature bullets, both retrieved on September 6, 2026. Each published bullet was read in full, the manufacturer's stated figures were separated from its descriptive language, and the implications of each figure for real loads were worked out from there.

Where the listing is silent, this review says so rather than filling the gap. No physical handling, installation, loading or road use took place, on this site or on its behalf. For safety background on any vehicle accessory, buyers can search the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission recall database and review the consumer guidance published at USA.gov.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much can the StowAway Max hold?

StowAway publishes 16 cubic feet of enclosed cargo space and a 200 lb load rating. Volume and weight are separate limits, and the supplied listing information does not show which one a given load reaches first, so weigh your cargo and check its bulk against the usable internal dimensions and opening.

Does the swingaway frame really let you open the tailgate?

The listing states that the StowAway Swingaway frame pivots the box away from the vehicle, giving unobstructed access to rear doors, a hatch or a tailgate without removing the carrier. The listing does not state the swing angle or clearance, so confirm fit against your specific hatch geometry.

Is the StowAway Max weatherproof?

StowAway describes it as durable and weather-resistant, molded from the same impact-resistant polymer used in whitewater kayaks. That is a weather-resistance claim from the manufacturer, not a waterproof or ingress-protection rating, and no such rating appears in the supplied listing information.

Does it come with lights and a license plate mount?

Yes. The listing specifies a lit license plate bracket and LED taillights, along with a keyed locking latch and a hitch tightener.

What hitch size or receiver class does it need?

The supplied listing information does not state a required receiver class, a tongue-weight figure or the carrier's empty weight. Check your vehicle's and hitch's published ratings directly, and note that a receiver or tongue-weight rating has to carry the carrier itself plus its contents, so it cannot be compared directly with the box's 200 lb load rating until StowAway supplies the carrier's empty weight.

How does it compare with a Buyers Products cargo carrier?

No facts for any Buyers Products carrier were supplied for this review, so this page cannot characterize that model's capacity, enclosure or security. What is on the record here is the StowAway Max Hitch Cargo Box with Swingaway Frame | Black, which StowAway publishes at 16 cubic feet of enclosed space with a keyed locking latch and a Swingaway frame; a spec-for-spec comparison with a specific Buyers Products model would require that model's own published figures.

Where is the StowAway Max made?

StowAway states that the Max is assembled in the Pacific Northwest and made in the USA. Component sourcing is not detailed in the listing.

Final Verdict

Buy the StowAway Max Hitch Cargo Box with Swingaway Frame | Black if rear access is non-negotiable and your cargo stays within both published limits. The pairing of 16 cubic feet of enclosed space with a frame that pivots the whole box away from the tailgate is the specific problem this product solves, and it does that without asking you to lift anything onto a roof.

Skip it if your load exceeds the 200 lb load rating StowAway publishes for the StowAway Max Hitch Cargo Box with Swingaway Frame | Black (ASIN B002TWFU52). That ceiling applies no matter how much of the 16 cubic feet is still empty, so weigh what you intend to carry.

Before ordering, get the figures StowAway does not publish in this listing directly from the manufacturer: receiver class requirement, the carrier's own weight, and how far it extends behind your bumper. Then confirm the exact approved vehicle, hitch, receiver and carrier configuration; the swing, hatch, ground and garage clearances; the electrical fit for the lights; the usable box dimensions and opening; and every applicable vehicle, hitch and carrier load limit against your equipment and cargo weights. Those three figures alone are not a complete compatibility check, and the published volume does not prove your gear fits.

Check Price on Amazon

For broader context on this mounting style, see this site's guide to a rear mounted cargo box for SUV owners.

Sources and Methodology

Nothing on this page was physically or laboratory-tested by this website; no carrier was mounted, loaded or driven. The analysis draws on the Amazon Creators API verified product record for ASIN B002TWFU52 and the product listing feature bullets published with it, both retrieved September 6, 2026, and the reasoning above is limited to what those documents state — capacity, load rating, frame function, shell material, included hardware and stated origin.

For hitch cargo boxes that is enough to answer the questions that decide most purchases: how much the manufacturer says it holds, whether the tailgate stays usable, and whether lighting and locking are included. It is not enough to speak to long-term durability, real-world rattle, or fitment on your specific receiver, and this page does not pretend otherwise.

Explore More Reviews

Check out our in-depth reviews, comparisons, and buying guides.

Browse All Guides

Official Government Resources

CPSC consumer product safety

cpsc.gov

https://www.cpsc.gov/

These official government resources provide authoritative information on this topic.

Find Your Perfect Match

Expert guidance you can trust

Browse All Reviews